Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

[ No headline ]

CLASSICAL Dvorak, Antonin: Czech Suite; various short orchestral works. Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Antal Dorati conductor. (London Digital LDR 71024.) This altogether enchanting record is a must for Dvorak lovers. The sound, and Dorati's gentle, caring way with the score, make it altogether special. The first side, devoted to four shorter works, is a delight, with particular pleasure to be had in Dorati's haunting account of the Op. 40 ''Nocturne.'' The Detroit Symphony plays handsomely and again, the sound is exceptionally clear and warm.

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.