Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

News In Brief

Five Latin American nations try to revive trade group

Central American countries have agreed to revive the Central American Common Market, a once-strong regional trade organization that deteriorated after a brief 1969 war between Honduras and El Salvador. The common market, which also includes Guatemala, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica, was formed in 1962 by the Treaty of Economic Integration. A meeting of the economic ministers of the market countries is scheduled for Aug. 24 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

About these ads

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.