Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site


Members: Australia, Brunei, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States. Mexico, Chile, and Papau New Guinea have applied for membership. Founded: 1989. Mission: To promote cooperation among market-oriented Pacific economies. Ten working groups within APEC discuss variety of issues. Population: The 15 member economies have more than 2 billion people. Trade: APEC members account for more than one-third of world trade. Economic Output: A gross domestic product of over $12 trillion, half the world total. This Year's Meeting: The fifth annual meeting of APEC, foreign and economic ministers Nov. 17 and 18, then heads of state.

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.