Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Book world expresses disappointment, outrage over Pulitzer snub

(Read article summary)

(Read caption) The three books chosen the fiction jury as finalists for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction were 'Swamplandia!' by Karen Russell, 'Train Dreams' by Denis Johnson and 'The Pale King' by David Foster Wallace.

About these ads

Some members of the book community were outraged when the announcement was made that there would not be a Pulitzer Prize awarded for fiction this year, the first time in 35 years that such an event had occurred and the eleventh time in the prize’s history.

For the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, a fiction jury chose three candidates and submitted them to the Pulitzer Prize board, selecting “Swamplandia!” by Karen Russell, “The Pale King” by David Foster Wallace and “Train Dreams” by Denis Johnson. Per awards procedure, it was the Pulitzer Prize board members who then decided that none of the three finalists would receive the award.

One of the three jurors who chose the three finalists has publicly expressed their displeasure with the Pulitzer committee’s decision.

 Juror Susan Larson, host of the National Public Radio program “The Reading Life,” told NPR that she and the rest of the jurors are “shocked … angry … and very disappointed” over the decision.

“This was a lot of work,” she said. “I think we all would have been happy if any of [the three] books had been selected.”

She and the other two jurors, previous Pulitzer winner for fiction Michael Cunningham and NPR “Fresh Air” host Maureen Corrigan, don’t know why the Pulitzer committee did not select a winner, said Larson.


Page:   1   |   2   |   3

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.