Switch to Desktop Site
 
 

What everyone is saying about NASA's Mars rover landing (+video)

The successful landing of NASA's Curiosity Mars rover on the Red Planet marks a historic moment in the history of planetary science. Here's what people are saying about it.

Workers in NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory cheered loudly when the Mars rover "Curiosity" landed successfully and sent back its first photos from the surface of the red planet. John Blackstone reports.
About these ads

NASA's Mars rover Curiosity successfully landed on the Red Planet late Sunday night (Aug. 5), marking a historic moment in the history of robotic Mars exploration.

The Curiosity rover touched down at 10:32 p.m. PDT Sunday, Aug. 5 (1:32 a.m. EDT; 0532 GMT Monday, Aug. 6), after a harrowing journey through the Martian atmosphere. The rover will now spend roughly two years investigating whether Mars has, or ever had, a suitable environment to host microbial life.

As news of Curiosity's successful landing spreads, here are some reactions from space exploration supporters, space industry officials, lawmakers and President Barack Obama.

Barack Obama, President of the United States (via Twitter

Tonight, on the planet Mars, the United States of America made history.

I congratulate and thank all the men and women of NASA who made this remarkable accomplishment a reality.

Charles Bolden, NASA Administrator 

Next

Page 1 of 4

Share