Switch to Desktop Site
 
 

Toy hippo, fish join new astronauts in flight to space station

A Soyuz spacecraft blasted off from Kazakhstan Tuesday morning with an American and two Russians also on board.

Image

The Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft carrying the International Space Station (ISS) crew of US astronaut Kevin Ford and Russian cosmonauts Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin blasts off from its launch pad 31 at the Baikonur cosmodrome October 23, 2012.

Shamil Zhumatov/REUTERS

About these ads

A Soyuz rocket launched an American astronaut, two Russian cosmonauts and 32 small fish into orbit Tuesday (Oct. 23), kicking off a five-month mission to the International Space Station for the human and aquatic explorers.

The Soyuz rocket roared into a clear blue sky from the Central Asian spaceport of Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan to begin a two-day flight to the space station. Liftoff occurred at 6:51 a.m. EDT (1051 GMT).

Riding aboard the rocket's Soyuz TMA-06M space capsule are NASA astronaut Kevin Ford and Russian cosmonaut s Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin. The three men are due to dock at the station on Thursday (Oct. 25) at 8:35 a.m. EDT (1235 GMT), and join three other crewmates already aboard the orbiting lab. Novitskiy is commanding the Soyuz flight.

"I think it's going to be something special, and I will get unforgettable memories," Novitskiy said in a NASA briefing before the mission. Novitskiy picked a small toy hippo, a gift from his teenage daughter Yana, to use an indicator of when the Soyuz reached the weightless environment of space. [Launch Photos: Soyuz Rocket Blasts Off With Station Crew]

Ford, Novitskiy and Tarelkin are the second half of the Expedition 33 crew on the InternationalSpace Station. Their mission marks the second spaceflight for Ford, a veteran NASA shuttle pilot, and the first trip to space for Novitskiy and Tarelkin.

Next

Page:   1   |   2   |   3

Share