Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Pritzker architecture prize goes to Jean Nouvel of France

This year's winner is known for light, transparency, and 'poetic' use of technology.

Jean Nouvel, 2008 winner of the Pritzker Prize

Courtesy of Gaston Bergeret/Jouen Nouvel Ateliers

About these ads

The 2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize, the most prestigious award given in architecture, goes to Jean Nouvel of France. This is only the second time an architect from France (Christian de Portzamparc in 1994 was the first) has received the honor in the prize's 30-year history.

Mr. Nouvel is saluted for a lifetime of achievement. In a phone interview, he says, "I have designed everything except an airport and a cathedral. I challenge myself to give each project a distinctive look."

His delight at receiving the high honor is palpable: "I am not noted for pursuing a particular style of architecture," he says. He likes to use innovative materials and approaches. "My work deals with what is happening now. I like to use the techniques and materials we are capable of today." He has designed museums, office buildings, cultural centers, housing – and more – in Italy, Japan, Spain, England, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Germany, South Korea, Mexico, Brazil, Iceland, Russia, Taiwan, Morocco, the United States, and elsewhere.


Page 1 of 4

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.