Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

'The Hunger Games' trilogy to be split into four movies

Next Previous

Page 2 of 3

About these ads

While the extra film release isn’t exactly a ground breaking idea, it was the first semi-official report that we’d heard regarding the possibility of a fourth 'Hunger Games' film – and it wasn’t long before industry insiders started phoning Lionsgate for confirmation.

The Hob, a Hunger Games news site managed to snag official word, reporting that Lionsgate was directly confirming the four film structure – but wouldn’t discuss where the movies would be split:

"We can confirm we have a deal that encompasses four (4) movies for THE HUNGER GAMES."

"We cannot confirm any details beyond the below [the previous response listed above] at this time."

How the films will be split-up is certainly an intriguing question. The first book, The Hunger Games, is mostly self-contained. As a result, it’ll probably be a matter of whether or not Lionsgate wants to go the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows as well as Twilight: Breaking Dawn route (splitting one installment into two parts) or go about a more complicated restructuring of the story by segmenting the final two books into three parts – splitting somewhere toward the end of book two (Catching Fire) and middle of book three (Mockingjay) with the final film encompassing the remaining events of the final trilogy book.

Considering both Catching Fire and Mockingjay enjoy much richer, more involved, narratives, there are plenty of places where the story could be split – by simply ratcheting-up an action set-piece to act as a film climax. However, given the epic battle (think Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2) featured at the end of Mockingjay – it’s likely that Lionsgate won’t get too creative in segmenting the film storyline and rely on an action-heavy finale.

Next Previous

Page:   1   |   2   |   3

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.