Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Stanley Cup Final: Blackhawks, Bruins set for NHL championship series (+video)

The Boston Bruins and the Chicago Blackhawks meet in the Stanley Cup Final, the National Hockey League's version of a championship. It's a best-of-seven series, starting Wednesday night in the Windy City.

Boston Bruins talk about playing in Stanley Cup Final
About these ads

For the first time in 34 years, the National Hockey League (NHL) will have two "Original 6" teams playing for the championship. "Original 6" refers to the six NHL franchises in existence before the league began westward expansion in 1967.

The Boston Bruins and Chicago Blackhawks are clubs that have been around since the mid-1920s. Between them, they have won 10 Stanley Cups, signifying supremacy in the NHL.

The last time Original 6 teams played for the championship was 1979, when the Montreal Canadiens defeated the New York Rangers, four games to one.

The Detroit Red Wings and the Toronto Maple Leafs, both playoff teams this year, round out the Original 6.

The Bruins and the Blackhawks start this quest for the Stanley Cup Wednesday night in Chicago, where Games 1 & 2 will be played. The scene shifts to Boston for Games 3 & 4 next week.

For the visiting Bruins, the offense starts with center David Krejci and the defense ends with goalie Tuukka Rask. Krejci, from the Czech Republic, leads all players in playoff scoring with nine goals and 12 assists.

Rask, a native of Finland, has a playoff-best save percentage of .943 in goal for the Bruins during the 2013 NHL playoffs.

"He's been arguably our best player this far," Boston forward Milan Lucic said after the Bruins arrived in Chicago on Tuesday, "and I hope he can keep it up."


Page:   1   |   2

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.