Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

International Criminal Court prosecutor Ocampo names six top Kenyans for post-election violence trial

Luis Moreno Ocampo, prosecutor for the International Criminal Court, named six top Kenyans – including government ministers, a former police commissioner, and a radio talk-show host – for sowing widespread violence following the disputed elections of Dec. 27, 2007.

International Criminal Court's Chief Prosecutor Luis Moreno Ocampo attends a news conference announcing suspects behind Kenya's post-election violence following the 2007 elections, in the Hague, on Dec. 15.

Jerry Lampen/Reuters

About these ads

Kenya’s finance minister, its former police commissioner, its former higher education minister, and a prominent radio talk-show host are considered to be among the six “most responsible” for the post-election violence following Kenya’s disputed Dec. 27, 2007, elections, according to the prosecutor for the International Criminal Court at The Hague, Netherlands.

Announcing the names of the “most responsible” – William Ruto, Uhuru Kenyatta, Henry Kosgey, Hussein Ali, Joshua Arap Sang, and Francis Muthaura – the ICC’s prosecutor, Luis Moreno Ocampo, said that he expected the accused to cooperate fully with the ICC court.

This week, Mr. Ocampo put stringent restrictions on those he was about to name on human rights crime charges, including bans on contacting other accused politicians and contacting or intimidating witnesses. He has also mandated that they frequently update the ICC about their whereabouts. None of the accused are yet subject to arrest warrants, and all are assumed to be willing to hand themselves over to the court at the Hague to face trial.


Page:   1   |   2

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.