Menu
Share
Share this story
Close X
 
Switch to Desktop Site

Live blogging the Egypt uprising: Jan. 30

(Read article summary)
About these ads

5:00 p.m. EST (12:00 a.m. Cairo) SIGNING OFF live blog blogging for today. I probably won't be doing this tomorrow, since I'm helping to write a cover story for our magazine on events in Egypt and am still hoping to take off for Cairo on Tuesday. (I fear that flights will still be screwy, though.) I plan to post a piece later this evening reflecting on the protests that drove Soeharto from power in 1998 – I covered them and lived in Indonesia for 10 years – and similarities to the unfolding events in Egypt.

4:46 p.m. EST (11:46 p.m. Cairo) US ACADEMICS WEIGH IN. Josh Stacher, a friend and really sharp follower of Egypt's politics at Kent State, forwards this open letter to President Obama signed by about 100 mostly US-based academics. "Tens if not hundreds of thousands of demonstrators in Egypt and around the world have spoken. We believe their message is bold and clear: Mubarak should resign from office and allow Egyptians to establish a new government free of his and his family’s influence. It is also clear to us that if you seek, as you said Friday 'political, social, and economic reforms that meet the aspirations of the Egyptian people,' your administration should publicly acknowledge those reforms will not be advanced by Mubarak or any of his adjutants."

Next

Page 1 of 7


Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.

Loading...