Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Namibia at a glance

Population: about 100,000 whites; 900,000 blacks Capital: Windhoek. Government: Administered by South Africa since 1920. South-West Africa was renamed Namibia at the UN in 1968.

Area: 318,827 square miles, twice the size of California.

About these ads

Mineral wealth: Diamonds, copper, lead, zinc, tin, silver, uranium.

Main export: Minerals, especially diamonds.

Agriculture: Sheep, cattle, goats.

Industry: Mining, farming, fishing.

Main political groups: Multiracial Democratic Turnhalle Alliance, backed by South Africa; SWAPO (South-West Africa People's Organization), a black nationalist guerrilla group that has waged low-key war for independence. SWAPO is recognized by the UN as the ''sole and authentic representative'' of the Namibian people.

History: German colony from 1884 until taken over by South African forces in World War I. Mandated to South Africa in 1920 by League of Nations. South Africa challenged the right of the UN, as successor to the League, to reclaim jurisdiction and lead it to independence.

World Court at The Hague ruled in 1971 that South Africa's presence in territory illegal. Pretoria has not acceded to UN demands that it relinquish control.

About these ads

In 1980, South Africa accepted, in principle, Security Council Resolution 435 as the basis of a Namibian settlement.