Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

News In Brief

Women Jaycees honor five for government achievement

The United States Jaycee Women presented their Outstanding Women in Government Awards on Monday to five women for ''their contributions and governmental involvement within their communities, their states, and within the nation.''

About these ads

The 1984 recipients of the annual awards were Transportation Secretary Elizabeth Hanford Dole; Sen. Nancy Landon Kassebaum; former Lt. Gov. Madeleine M. Kunin of Vermont, the Democratic candidate for governor of that state; Mayor Anne Rudin of Sacramento, Calif.; and former Sen. Margaret Chase Smith Maine.