Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Soviet leadership in transition. Turnover in the Kremlin

Chart: Turnover in the Kremlin 4 LEADERS IN 65 YEARS 1917 Lenin 1924 Stalin 1953 Khruschev* 1964 Brezhnev 3 LEADERS IN 3 YEARS 1982 Andropov 1984 Chernenko 1985 Gorbachev *Georgi M. Malenkov was designated party leader and held office March 6-15, 1953. He was ousted by Khruschev.