Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

PEN USA announces 2008 literary award winners


November 07, 2008

About these ads

Award winning writer Larry Gelbart set to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

PEN USA, the West Coast center for the renowned writers’ organization International PEN, has unveiled the winners of its prestigious 2008 Literary Awards competition.

These include:

Daniel Alarcon, "Lost City Radio"  (reviewed in the Monitor on 2/13/07)

Creative Nonfiction
Julia Whitty, "The Fragile Edge"

Research Nonfiction
William Vollmann, "Poor People" (reviewed in the Monitor on 3/13/07)

Juan Felipe Herrera, "187 Reasons Mexicanos Can't Cross the Border"

About these ads

Children's Literature
Ron Koertge, "Strays"

Donald Revell, "A Season in Hell" by Arthur Rimbaud