Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Reader recommendation: Bertie's Guide to Life and Mothers

Monitor readers share their favorite book picks.

View video

View photo

Set in Edinburgh, Scotland, Bertie's Guide to Life and Mothers, the ninth book in "The 44 Scotland Street" series by Alexander McCall Smith, humorously yet seriously highlights the character's foibles and resolves situations – until the next installment.