Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

'One and Only Ivan' and 'This Is Not My Hat' capture Newbery and Caldecott awards

(Read article summary)
View video

(Read caption) The Newbery and Caldecott Medals are considered the highest prizes in children's literature.

View photo

The highest honors for children’s books for 2013 were awarded to writer Katherine Applegate and writer-illustrator Jon Klassen, with Applegate’s “The One and Only Ivan” capturing the John Newbery Medal and Klassen’s “This Is Not My Hat” taking the Randolph Caldecott Medal for Outstanding Illustration.

This year also marks the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Medal, which has honored such books as “Make Way for Ducklings” by Robert McCloskey and Ezra Jack Keats’ “The Snowy Day.”

About these ads

The groups also award Newbery Honors and Caldecott Honor. This year “Splendors and Glooms" by Laura Amy Schlitz and "Three Times Lucky" by Sheila Turnage were cited for Newbery Honors. Five books, including “Creepy Carrots!," written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown; "Extra Yarn," written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen; "Green," written and illustrated by by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; "One Cool Friend," written by Toni Buzzeo and illustrated by David Small; and "Sleep Like a Tiger," written by Mary Logue and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, received Caldecott Honors.

Bridge to Terabithia” writer Katherine Paterson received the Laura Ingalls Wilder award this year for her work in children’s literature.

“This Is Not My Hat” has experienced strong sales since it was published last fall. Even before the award announcement, it was still occupying the sixth spot on the Children’s Illustrated IndieBound bestseller list for the week of Jan. 24, after being released last October.