Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

'Flowers in the Attic': The series will continue with two new books

(Read article summary)
View video

Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP

(Read caption) 'Flowers in the Attic' stars Heather Graham.

View photo

Two new books will reportedly be released that are set in the world of the family from V.C. Andrews’ novel “Flowers in the Attic.”

The announcement comes following the success of the Lifetime movie adaptation of “Flowers,” which starred “Mad Men” actress Kiernan Shipka and Heather Graham.

About these ads

The last book about the Dollenganger family, “Garden of Shadows,” was released in 1986, after Andrews’ death. The book was started by Andrews and completed by writer Andrew Neiderman, though “Garden” is credited only to Andrews. 

The two new books about the family, titled “Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth” and “Christopher’s Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger,” will be set in the present day and will focus on a teenage girl, a relative of the Dollanganger family, who finds the diary of older brother Christopher in the ruins of a house and becomes interested in the story of the family, according to the Hollywood Reporter. Judging from the cover of "Foxworth," it appears as if these books will be credited to Andrews as well.

“Foxworth” will be published this October and “Echoes” will follow in January 2015.

Lifetime’s adaptation of the “Flowers” sequel “Petals on the Wind” is set to air on May 26.