Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Flood damage pushes Iowa Gov. Culver to add 4 counties to disaster list

Flood damage has provoked a disaster declaration for four more counties in Iowa.

View video

Flood damage threatens homes near the Maquoketa River in Maquoketa, Iowa on Sunday July 25. The dam failed Saturday as rising floodwater from the Maquoketa River ate a 30-foot-wide hole in it. Areas below the dam, including in Hopkinton and Monticello were evacuated.

Kevin E. Schmidt/Quad-City Times/AP

View photo

Gov. Chet Culver has added four more counties to a disaster declaration because of flash flooding.

The proclamation, issued Monday, is for Buchanan, Clayton, Dickinson and Jackson counties.

About these ads

Culver issued proclamations on Friday and Saturday for Dubuque, Delaware and Jones counties.

Eligible residents can seek up to $5,000 in reimbursements for damage incurred for individuals and families whose income is less than 200 percent above the poverty level. For individuals, it's about $22,000 or less. For a family of four, it's about $44,000 or less.

More information is available on the state's Department of Human Services' website.