Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Who's who on Congress's debt 'super committee'

Next Previous

2 of 12

FILE - In this July 12, 2011 file photo, House Ways and Means Committee member Rep. Xavier Becerra, D-Calif., speaks during a news conference on Capitol Hill in Washington. House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi of Calif. has appointed Becerra and two other Democrats to Congress' new debt-reduction supercommittee, completing the 12-member panel's roster.
Lauren Victoria Burke/AP Photo/File
2 of 12

2. Rep. Xavier Becerra (D) of California

Representative Becerra is the vice chairman of the Democratic Caucus and a senior member of the Ways and Means Committee.

Becerra served on President Obama’s deficit commission, now known as Simpson-Bowles, and – like the other three commission veterans appointed to the new debt committee – he voted against the commission’s final report.

Then, as now, Becerra opposes proposed cuts to entitlement programs, especially if not accompanied with tax hikes to the wealthiest Americans to ensure “shared sacrifice.”

Alone among Democrats appointed to serve on the debt panel, Becerra voted against the compromise deal to raise the debt ceiling on Aug. 2. Republican Sen. Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania also opposed the measure.

None of the House Democratic nominees are expected to be swing votes in a compromise deal.

Next Previous

2 of 12

About these ads