Menu
Share
Share this story
Close X
 
Switch to Desktop Site

Tropical storm Leslie hammers Newfoundland

Tropical storm Leslie arrived in Newfoundland, Canada, Tuesday morning. Tropical storm Leslie brought heavy rains and hurricane-force wind gusts up to 81 m.p.h.

View video

The Canadian Hurricane Centre shows the forecast tracks of tropical storm Leslie and Michael in the Atlantic.

Canadian Hurricane Centre

View photo

The Canadian Hurricane Centre says the center of Tropical Storm Leslie has made landfall in Fortune, Newfoundland.

Meteorologist Bob Robichaud says the potent storm touched down at about 8:30 a.m. AST (7:30 a.m. EST, 1130 GMT) as it continued to barrel north-northeast.

About these ads

He says a swath of the province from Fortune, on the Burin Peninsula, all the way east to St. John's on the Avalon Peninsula was getting pounded with stiff winds and heavy rains.

Winds were still building, with the St. John's airport recording hurricane-force gusts of up to 81 mph (131 kph), while waves were reaching 10 yards (meters) at an offshore buoy.

There were widespread power outages in St. John's and communities along the southeastern coast of the Avalon Peninsula.

Heavy rains also drenched province's western portion.

RECOMMENDED: 5 ways to prepare for a hurricane

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.