Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

National Book Award winners

Susan Sontag won the National Book Award for fiction last Wednesday night at a lavish $1,000-a-plate dinner hosted by Steve Martin in Times Square. Her fourth novel, "In America" (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), tells the story of a Polish actress who comes to America to begin a utopian community.

Other winners included:

About these ads

Nonfiction: Nathaniel Philbrick, "In the Heart of the Sea" (Viking Penguin).

Poetry: Lucille Clifton, "Blessing the Boats" (BOA Editions).

Young Adult: Gloria Whelan, "Homeless Bird" (HarperCollins).

Science-fiction writer Ray Bradbury accepted a special lifetime achievement award from the Book Foundation, which raises money for literacy and writing programs.

For full story, see

(c) Copyright 2000. The Christian Science Publishing Society

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.