Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

2011 Man Booker prize longlist announced

(Read article summary)

(Read caption) The winner of the Man Booker prize receives 50,000 pounds, with the six members of the shortlist receiving 2,500 pounds and designer bound editions of their novels

About these ads

The longlist for the Man Booker prize for fiction – a prize awarded annually to the best novel written this year by a citizen of the British Commonwealth – has been announced.

The list includes the following 13 novels, according to the Man Booker press release:

-Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending (Jonathan Cape - Random House)
-Sebastian Barry On Canaan's Side (Faber)
-Carol Birch Jamrach's Menagerie (Canongate Books)
-Patrick deWitt The Sisters Brothers (Granta)
-Esi Edugyan Half Blood Blues (Serpent's Tail - Profile)
-Yvvette Edwards A Cupboard Full of Coats (Oneworld)
-Alan Hollinghurst The Stranger's Child (Picador - Pan Macmillan)
-Stephen Kelman Pigeon English (Bloomsbury)
-Patrick McGuinness The Last Hundred Days (Seren Books)
-A.D. Miller Snowdrops (Atlantic)
-Alison Pick Far to Go (Headline Review)
-Jane Rogers The Testament of Jessie Lamb (Sandstone Press)
-D.J. Taylor Derby Day (Chatto & Windus - Random House)


Page:   1   |   2

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.