Menu
Share
Share this story
Close X
 
Switch to Desktop Site

787 completes first test flight since grounding

Boeing 787 Dreamliner makes 'uneventful' two-hour test flight to gather data on its lithium-ion batteries. A series of battery-related problems have grounded the 787 Dreamliners as officials investigate. 

Image

A Boeing 787 jet taxis Thursday in view of a line of parked 787's at Paine Field in Everett, Wash., following a flight from Texas. On Saturday, Boeing scheduled its first test flight of the Dreamliner since the fleet of 50 was grounded last month after a series of battery problems

Elaine Thompson/AP

About these ads

Boeing Co completed what it called an uneventful flight on Saturday of a test 787 Dreamliner, its first since the airplanes were grounded more than three weeks ago after a series of battery-related problems.

The test flight to gather detailed information on the airplane's lithium-ion batteries lasted two hours and 19 minutes, taking off from and returning to Boeing Field in Seattle, Boeing said.

"The crew reports that the flight was uneventful," Boeing said in a statement.

The 50 Dreamliners in commercial service were grounded worldwide on Jan. 16 after a series of battery-related incidents including a fire on board a parked 787 at Boston's Logan International Airport and an in-flight problem on another airplane in Japan.

The groundings have cost airlines tens of millions of dollars, with no solution yet in sight.

The U.S. Federal Aviation Administration said on Thursday it would allow 787 test flights, under more stringent rules, to monitor the batteries in flight.

Boeing said the information gathered during the flight was part of the investigations into the battery events that occurred in January and that additional details could not be shared.

The airplane is Boeing's fifth 787 flight test airplane, marked as ZA005, and the only member of the test fleet in service. The flight had a crew of 13, including pilots and testing personnel, Boeing said.

About these ads

Boeing said no flights of the airplane were planned on Sunday, but it planned to resume flights early in the coming week. Boeing does not provide advance flight schedules.

The test flight departed Boeing Field at 12:32 p.m. Pacific time (3:32 p.m. ET/2032 GMT) and landed at 2:51 p.m. (5:51 p.m. ET/2251 GMT), the company said.


Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.

Loading...