Menu
Share
 
Switch to Desktop Site

Space Shuttle Enterprise arrives in NYC atop a Boeing 747 (+video)

Earlier today, NASA's Space Shuttle Enterprise touched down in New York City, where it will find a new home in the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum.

The space shuttle Enterprise, carried atop a NASA jumbo jet, makes a grand entrance in New York.
About these ads

NEW YORK, NY — Space shuttle Enterprise, the prototype for NASA's storied orbiter fleet, is now a New Yorker.

The original test space shuttle, Enterprise flew into the Big Apple on Friday (April 27) atop a modified Boeing 747 jumbo jet. The air- and spacecraft duo touched down at New York's John F. Kennedy (JFK) International Airport at 11:22 a.m. EDT (1522 GMT) following a photogenic flyover of some of the metropolitan area's most famous sights, including the Statue of Liberty and the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum, which Enterprise will soon call home.

Enterprise, mounted to NASA's Shuttle Carrier Aircraft (SCA), took off from Dulles International Airport in Washington, D.C. at 9:39 a.m. EDT (1339 GMT). The nearly two-hour flight had been delayed for several days due to weather concerns.

Next

Page 1 of 4


Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.

Loading...