Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

'The Hunger Games' trilogy to be split into four movies

(Read article summary)


(Read caption) 'The Hunger Games' star Jennifer Lawrence arrives to promote her new film at The Late Show with David Letterman.

About these ads

Given the amount of backlash over the choice of up-and-comer Jennifer Lawrence (X:Men First Class) as 'The Hunger Games‘ lead Katniss Everdeen, not to mention the seeminglynever-ending casting updates, it’s no surprise to hear that Lionsgate is expecting big things from the upcoming film franchise.

Even less surprising, but equally transparent, is the studio’s choice to stretch Suzanne CollinsHunger Games book trilogy into a film quadrilogy (four movies) – taking a marketing cue from similar young adult books-turned-megamoney film franchises, Harry Potter and Twilight.

Deadline New York broke the news earlier today with a subtle mention that the narrative would span four films instead of the book series’ three-part format:

“Lionsgate executives told Wall Street analysts this morning to expect big things from 'The Hunger Games', a series of four action films that the studio will release from the trilogy written by Suzanne Collins.”


Page:   1   |   2   |   3

Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.