Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

2011 Michael L. Printz awards: here are the winners

The Michael L. Printz Award is given for excellence in literature written for young adults. Dark, challenging, compelling – these are books that pack a punch even as they keep young readers turning the pages.

1 of 5

1. Ship Breaker, by Paolo Bacigalupi

Ship Breaker,” by Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown and Company, 336 pp.) is the 2011 Printz Award winner. The protagonist of this post-apocalyptic tale is Nailer, a teenager who must eke out a paycheck scavenging archaic oil tankers on the Gulf coast. When Nailer discovers an abandoned ship full of valuable goods, he is thrust into a moral dilemma that resolves itself through fast-paced plot twists packed with adventure, fighting, and even murder.


1 of 5

About these ads