Share this story
Close X
Switch to Desktop Site

Hilary Mantel's new work will feature Margaret Thatcher

(Read article summary)
View video


(Read caption) Hilary Mantel's next work will reportedly center on Margaret Thatcher.

View photo

Man Booker Prize-winning author Hilary Mantel has announced that her next work will include Margaret Thatcher.

Mantel, who is best known for her series set in Tudor England which includes the novels “Wolf Hall” and “Bring Up the Bodies,” will reportedly release a short story collection titled “The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher” in September.

About these ads

“Where her last two novels explore how modern England was forged, The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher shows us the country we have become,” Mantel’s editor Nicholas Pearson told the Guardian. “These stories are Mantel at her observant best.”

Recommended:10 best books of January: the Monitor's picks

According to the Telegraph, the collection will consist of 10 short works set in the modern day and Thatcher is a character in "Assassination."

Mantel is a two-time winner of the Man Booker Prize, the first female and British author to win the award twice. Adaptations of her novels “Wolf” and “Bodies” are currently being performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

When she won the Man Booker Prize for "Bodies," Reuters reported the third book in her planned Tudor trilogy, titled "The Mirror and the Light," would most likely be released in 2015. But now the Guardian is reporting "fans must wait" for the new book – no word on whether there's a new release date. Mantel told the Guardian she plans to finish "Mirror" this year.